United Way Recognizes Corporate and Community Givers at Annual Awards

    May 24th, 2023

    • Announces Pioneer Bank’s Alissa Brekke as 2024 campaign chair
    • 2024 campaign goal: $2,250,000

    MANKATO—Greater Mankato Area United Way held its annual Top Business & Community Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, May 24 at the Mayo Clinic Health System Event Center. United Way recognized corporate and community involvement as well as the efforts of other key supporters.

    Businesses received awards for their participation in corporate and employee giving, sponsorships, volunteering and in-kind donations during United Way’s 2023 campaign, which surpassed $2,150,000 for 55 programs within 38 partner agencies in Blue Earth, Le Sueur, Nicollet and Waseca counties. Incoming members to the Tocqueville Society received recognition, while standout longtime community and corporate supporters received Milestone Awards.

    CEO Barb Kaus also introduced Alissa Brekke of Pioneer Bank as the 2024 campaign chair. Brekke announced that Greater Mankato Area United Way’s 2024 campaign kicks off July 25 with a goal of $2,250,000.

    Awards were presented to the following:

    Top In-Kind Donors (alpha order):

    • Coughlan Companies
    • The Free Press Media
    • KEYC News Now
    • Radio Mankato

    Business Awards:

    • Artistry Award: APX Construction Group
    • Partnership Award: Mankato Motorsports
    • Year-Over-Year Increased Giving: Taylor Corp. & Companies
    • Public Sector of the Year: Mankato Area Public Schools
    • Community Support Organization of the Year: Greater Mankato Growth
    • Nonprofit of the Year: Partners for Housing
    • Regional Business of the Year: City of Madison Lake
    • New Employee Campaign of the Year: Mankato Family Dental
    • Small Business of the Year: West Bank
    • Medium Business of the Year: Xcel Energy
    • Large Business of the Year: Mankato Clinic
    • All-Around Supporter of the Year: Pioneer Bank

    Community Milestone Awards (alpha order):

    • Pam DeMarce
    • Dennis & Carole Dotson
    • Don & Joanne Kvasnicka
    • Don & Stephanie Putzier
    • Kim & Sue Schwickert

    Business Milestone Awards:

    • True Value – Small Business
    • Eide Bailly – Medium Business
    • Dotson Iron Castings – Large Business

    Incoming Tocqueville Society Members (alpha order):

    • Heidi Boyum
    • David & Carolyn Krause
    • Marley & Judi Lloyd
    • Warren “Buster” & Nina L. West