2012 Graduate Gena Johnson Nominated for ACM Audio Engineer of the Year

    March 21st, 2021

    MANKATO, Minn. – Gena Johnson (BS, Audio Production Specialist), a 2012 Minnesota State Mankato Department of Music graduate, has received a 2021 Audio Engineer of the Year nomination from the Academy of Country Music Awards (ACM). Gena Johnson is the first female ever to be nominated in this category by the ACM.

    Ms. Johnson, daughter of Mike and Lisa Johnson of Mankato, graduated from Mankato East High School in 2008. She was the first graduate of the Department of Music’s audio specialist degree program.

    Ms. Johnson is a nationally recognized record producer, audio engineer and mixing engineer living in Nashville.

    Johnson’s engineering and production contributions have supported such artists as Chris Stapleton, Kacey Musgraves, Jason Isbell, Brandi Carlile, Zac Brown Band, John Prine, The Oakridge Boys, Lady Antebellum and Vince Gill, among others. Johnson also engineered on the “Star is Born” soundtrack, working with Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga.

    The ACM Audio Engineer of the Year award is presented to an outstanding audio engineer, primarily involved in the recording and/or mixing process. The five nominees are selected by a professional panel of judges approved by ACM officers.

    The Academy of Country Music is a national organization connecting country music fans, artists and the music industry.

    For the second time in as many years, Nashville will host the Academy of Country Music Awards. The show returns for an encore run in Music City on Sunday, April 18 inside three celebrated venues: the Ryman Auditorium, Grand Ole Opry House and Bluebird Café. The 56th annual ACM Awards airs at 7 p.m. CST on CBS.